Dolor de dos El Paso, TX Chiropraticien Dr. Alex Jimenez DC
Dr. Alex Jimenez, Chiropraticien d'El Paso
J'espère que vous avez apprécié nos articles de blog sur divers sujets liés à la santé, à la nutrition et aux blessures. N'hésitez pas à nous appeler ou à vous-même si vous avez des questions lorsque vous avez besoin de rechercher des soins. Appelez le bureau ou moi-même. Bureau 915-850-0900 - Cell 915-540-8444 Très sympa. Dr. J

Mal au dos

Dorsalgie

La colonne vertébrale et le dos sont faits pour fournir beaucoup de force, protégeant la moelle épinière et les racines nerveuses très sensibles, pourtant flexibles, fournissant la liberté dans toutes les directions. Mais, il y a beaucoup de parties distinctes de la colonne vertébrale qui peuvent créer mal au dostels que l'irritation des grosses racines nerveuses qui coulent le long des bras et des jambes, l'irritation des nerfs de la colonne vertébrale, les tensions sur les muscles du dos, ainsi que toute lésion du disque, des os, des articulations ou des ligaments de la colonne vertébrale.

Les maux de dos aigus apparaissent soudainement et durent généralement de quelques jours à quelques semaines. Le mal de dos chronique décrit comme se poursuivant pendant trois mois.

Les maux de dos peuvent prendre une grande variété de caractéristiques:

  • La douleur peut être constante, intermittente ou se produire dans certaines positions ou actions
  • La douleur peut rester dans un endroit ou rayonner vers d'autres zones
  • Il peut s'agir d'une douleur sourde ou d'une sensation forte ou percée ou brûlante
  • La question pourrait être dans le cou ou le bas du dos, mais peut rayonner dans le pied ou la jambe (sciatique), la main ou le bras.

Heureusement, la plupart des douleurs au dos s'améliorent elles-mêmes: environ 50% des individus peuvent subir un soulagement de la douleur dans les deux semaines et 90% dans les trois mois.

Si la douleur persiste pendant quelques jours, s'aggrave, ne réagit pas aux remèdes contre le mal de dos comme le repos, la chaleur ou la glace, les exercices pour le mal de dos et les analgésiques en vente libre. un médecin de dos. Il y a deux cas dans lesquels les soins médicaux d'urgence sont de la plus haute importance:

  • Dysfonctionnement de l'intestin et / ou de la vessie

Heureusement, ces conditions sont rares.

Diagnostic de la douleur

Les tests diagnostiques peuvent indiquer si le mal de dos d'un patient est le résultat d'une cause anatomique. Cependant, comme les évaluations diagnostiques en elles-mêmes et en elles-mêmes ne sont pas un diagnostic, parvenir à un diagnostic clinique précis nécessite une évaluation qui doit être corrélée avec les symptômes de la douleur au dos du patient et l'examen physique.

  • Radiographie. Ce test offre des informations sur les os de la colonne vertébrale. Une radiographie est fréquemment utilisée pour évaluer l'instabilité rachidienne (spondylolisthésis, tumeurs et fractures).
  • Scanner. Ce test est une radiographie très détaillée incluant des images en coupe. Les scanners fournissent des détails spécifiques concernant les os de la colonne vertébrale. Ils peuvent également être utilisés pour tester des conditions particulières, telles qu'une hernie discale ou une sténose spinale. Les tomodensitométries ont tendance à être moins précises pour les troubles de la colonne vertébrale que les IRM.
  • IRM est particulièrement utile pour évaluer des conditions spécifiques en fournissant des détails sur le disque intervertébral et les racines nerveuses (qui peuvent être irritées ou pincées). Les examens IRM sont utilisés pour exclure les infections ou les tumeurs de la colonne vertébrale.

Les injections peuvent également être utilisées pour aider à diagnostiquer des types spécifiques de douleur. Si une dose de médicament analgésique est injectée dans une zone particulière de la colonne vertébrale, elle soulage les maux de dos.

Causes de la douleur au dos

La cause la plus fréquente de lombalgie est de loin la fatigue musculaire ou d'autres lésions des tissus mous. Bien que cette condition ne soit pas grave, elle peut être gravement douloureuse. En règle générale, la douleur au bas du dos due à une fatigue musculaire s'améliorera probablement au bout de quelques semaines.

Traitement implique généralement une courte période de repos, une restriction d'activité, l'utilisation de compresses chaudes ou de compresses froides et des médicaments contre la douleur. Parmi les médicaments contre la douleur, on peut citer l'acétaminophène (p. Ex. Tylenol), l'ibuprofène (Advil), le Motrin ou le naproxène (p. Ex. Aleve). On pourrait également recommander des analgésiques sur ordonnance pour les maux de dos graves.

Habituellement, les jeunes (30 à 60-ans) sont plus susceptibles de souffrir de maux de dos de l'espace disque proprement dit (par exemple, hernie discale lombaire ou maladie discale dégénérative). Adultes plus âgés (par exemple, sur 60) sont plus susceptibles de souffrir de douleurs liées à la dégénérescence articulaire (p. ex. arthrose, sténose de la colonne vertébrale).

Parfois, un patient peut ressentir des douleurs aux jambes plus sensibles que les douleurs dorsales en raison de certaines affections dans la colonne vertébrale inférieure, y compris:

  • Disque hériné lombaire: Le noyau interne du disque peut provoquer une irritation d'une racine nerveuse voisine, causant des siests (douleurs aux jambes).
  • Sténose spinale lombaire. Le canal de la colonne vertébrale se rétrécit en raison de la dégénérescence, qui peut exercer une pression sur la racine nerveuse et conduire à la sciatique.
  • Maladie du disque dégénératif. À mesure que le disque dégénère, il peut provoquer de petites quantités de mouvement dans ce segment de la colonne vertébrale et irriter une racine nerveuse et entraîner une sciatique.
  • Spondylolésithme isthmique. Une petite fracture de stress permet à une vertèbre de glisser vers une autre, généralement à la base de la colonne vertébrale, ce qui peut pincer le nerf et causer des douleurs dans le bas du dos et des jambes.
  • Arthrose. La dégénérescence des petites articulations à l'arrière de la colonne vertébrale peut entraîner des douleurs au dos et une flexibilité réduite. Peut également entraîner une sténose spinale et des pincements nerveux.

Il est important de connaître la condition sous-jacente qui est à l'origine de la douleur au dos, car les remèdes varieront souvent en fonction des causes du mal de dos.

Facteurs de risque

Il existe de nombreux facteurs de risque de maux de dos, notamment le vieillissement, la génétique, les risques professionnels, le mode de vie, le poids, la posture, le tabagisme et la grossesse. Cela dit, les maux de dos sont si répandus qu’ils peuvent frapper même si vous n’avez aucun facteur de risque.

Les patients atteints d'un ou de plusieurs de ces facteurs pourraient être à risque de maux de dos:

  • Vieillissement. Au fil des ans, l'usure de la colonne vertébrale qui pourrait survenir (p. Ex. Dégénérescence du disque, sténose de la colonne vertébrale) entraîne des douleurs au dos et au cou. Les individus âgés de 30 à 60 sont plus susceptibles d'avoir des troubles liés au disque, tandis que les individus de plus de 60 sont plus susceptibles d'avoir des douleurs associées à l'arthrose.
  • La génétique. Il existe des preuves que certains types de troubles de la colonne vertébrale ont une composante génétique. Par exemple, la discopathie dégénérative semble avoir un élément hérité.
  • Dangers professionnels. Tout travail nécessitant une flexion et un soulèvement répétitifs entraîne une incidence plus élevée de blessures au dos (p. Ex. Travailleur de la construction, infirmière). Les emplois qui nécessitent de longues heures debout sans interruption (par exemple, coiffeur) ou assis sur un siège (par exemple, un programmeur de logiciels) qui ne supporte pas la colonne vertébrale exposent la personne à un risque plus élevé.
  • Mode de vie sédentaire. L'absence d'exercice régulier augmente les risques d'incidence des douleurs lombaires et augmente également la gravité de la maladie.
  • Poids. Le surpoids augmente la pression sur le bas du dos, en plus des autres articulations (par exemple les genoux) et constitue un facteur de risque pour certains types de symptômes de maux de dos.
  • Mauvaise posture. Toute mauvaise position prolongée au fil du temps crée un risque de douleur au dos. Parmi les exemples, on peut citer un clavier d'ordinateur, une conduite sur le volant et un levage incorrect.
  • Grossesse. Les femmes enceintes sont plus susceptibles de développer des douleurs dorsales en raison de l'excès de poids corporel à l'avant et le relâchement des ligaments dans la zone pelvienne lorsque le corps se prépare à l'accouchement.
  • Fumeur. Les personnes qui fument sont plus susceptibles de développer des maux de dos que les autres.

Quand contacter un docteur de douleur au dos

Généralement, lorsque la douleur présente l'une des caractéristiques suivantes, il est conseillé de consulter un médecin pour une évaluation:

  • Douleurs dorsales qui suivent un accident, tel qu'un accident de voiture ou qui tombe d'une échelle
  • Le mal au dos est en cours et devient de plus en plus grave
  • La douleur continue pendant plus de quatre à six semaines
  • La douleur est sévère et ne s'améliore pas après quelques jours de remèdes typiques, comme le repos, la glace et les analgésiques (comme l'ibuprofène ou le Tylenol)
  • Douleur intense pendant la nuit qui vous réveille, même après un sommeil profond
  • Il y a le dos et la douleur abdominale
  • L'entêtement ou les sentiments altérés dans les parties supérieures des cuisses, des fesses ou de l'aine
  • Les symptômes neurologiques, comme la faiblesse, l'engourdissement ou des picotements dans les extrémités - la jambe, le pied, le bras ou la main
  • Fièvre inexplicable avec une augmentation du mal au dos
  • Douleur soudaine au haut du dos, surtout si vous êtes à risque d'ostéoporose.

L'essentiel dont tout le monde doit se souvenir est que si une personne a un doute, consultez un médecin. Si le mal de dos s'aggrave avec le temps, ne s'améliore pas avec le repos et les remèdes contre la douleur en vente libre, ou entraîne des symptômes neurologiques, c'est une bonne idée. pour voir un médecin contre le mal de dos.

Douleur au dos et au milieu

Lombalgie El Paso, TX

La douleur dans le haut et le milieu du dos n'est pas aussi courante que la douleur au bas du dos ou au cou. La partie supérieure de la colonne vertébrale est appelée colonne vertébrale thoracique et constitue la partie la plus sûre de la colonne vertébrale. La portée du mouvement dans le haut du dos devient limitée en raison des attaches de la colonne vertébrale aux côtes (cage thoracique).

La douleur dans le haut du dos est généralement causée par des lésions des tissus mous, telles que des entorses ou des foulures, des tensions musculaires causées par une mauvaise posture ou une baisse de la durée (par exemple, textos, utilisation du téléphone mobile).

  • Douleur
  • Étanchéité
  • Rigidité
  • Spasmes musculaires
  • Tendresse à toucher
  • Un mal de tête

Qu'est-ce qui provoque une douleur dorsale moyenne et supérieure?

Un épisode de douleur au haut du dos peut être activé par des mouvements et des actions distincts, notamment:

Mid Back Pain El Paso, TX, États-Unis
  • Être en surpoids
  • Sport de contact
  • Porter une charge lourde
  • Flexion excessive
  • Le levage incorrectement
  • Mauvaise tonalité musculaire
  • Mouvements répétitifs, abus
  • Fumeur
  • Torsion
  • Blessure cervicale ou blessure au cou alternative

Une mauvaise posture de travail à l'ordinateur pendant une longue période sans prendre de pause pour se promener et s'étendre, ou en général peut favoriser des douleurs dans le haut du dos. La fatigue musculaire et la traction musculaire, qui résultent souvent d'une mauvaise posture, peuvent déclencher l'inconfort.

Que faire à propos de cela?

Habituellement, la douleur au haut du dos n'est pas une cause d'inquiétude; Cependant, il peut être inconfortable, douloureux et peu pratique. En outre, si la douleur se développe soudainement et est grave, par exemple suite à une blessure (chute, par exemple), et si la douleur et les symptômes (p. Ex. Faiblesse) s'aggravent progressivement, consultez un médecin.

Généralement, les traitements à domicile suivants peuvent aider à soulager les maux de dos qui sont supérieurs.

  • Repos à court terme
  • Étirements légers
  • Médicaments en vente libre, par exemple l'ibuprofène (Motrin®), le naproxène sodique (Aleve®) ou l'acétaminophène (Tylenol®). Prenez avec de la nourriture et ne prenez pas plus que la dose recommandée.
  • Utilisez une compresse froide disponible dans le commerce ou remplissez un sac en plastique avec de la glace et scellez-le pour l'envelopper. Appliquez à la zone douloureuse pour 20 minutes toutes les heures 2-3 du premier jour 2 à 3.
  • Chaleur (après les premières heures 72). Après avoir utilisé une chaleur humide, étirez doucement les muscles pour améliorer la mobilité et atténuer la rigidité.

Votre médecin peut vous prescrire des médicaments, comme un relaxant musculaire, ou effectuer des injections au point de déclenchement pour aider à briser les spasmes musculaires de manière significative. Il ou elle peut également recommander une thérapie physique pour augmenter la flexibilité, la mobilité et soulager la douleur. D'autres traitements que votre médecin peut suggérer comprennent l'acupuncture et les soins chiropratiques.

La plupart des cas de douleur dans le haut du dos se résolvent en semaines 1 en 2 sans traitement supplémentaire. Une fois que vous êtes capable de les exécuter sans douleur, recommencez lentement vos activités régulières. Cependant, ne vous précipitez pas: vous pourriez interférer avec votre guérison et risquer de vous blesser de nouveau.

Lombalgie

Douleur au bas du dos El Paso, TX

La lombalgie et la lombalgie peuvent différer d'une douleur sourde qui évolue progressivement vers une douleur soudaine, vive ou persistante ressentie sous la taille. Malheureusement, presque tout le monde, à un moment de la vie, peut ressentir des douleurs lombaires qui peuvent descendre dans les fesses et parfois dans un ou les deux membres inférieurs. La cause la plus fréquente est la fatigue musculaire souvent liée à un travail physique intense, à des mouvements de levage ou puissants, à la flexion ou à la torsion dans des positions inconfortables ou à une position debout trop longue.

Causes de la douleur au bas et au bas du dos

Plusieurs conditions différentes provoquent ou conduisent à des douleurs lombaires et basses. Beaucoup impliquent une compression nerveuse (par exemple, un nerf pincé) qui peut causer de la douleur et d'autres maux. Les types de troubles de la colonne vertébrale comprennent les maladies liées au traumatisme et les maladies dégénératives; signifiant lié à l'âge. Quelques-uns de ces problèmes de colonne vertébrale sont ci-dessous.

  • Arme à feu ou hernie discale. Un disque peut faire saillie vers l'extérieur. Une hernie discale se produit lorsque la matière interne molle s'échappe par une fissure ou se rompt à travers la couche externe protectrice du disque. Les deux problèmes de disque peuvent entraîner une compression nerveuse, une inflammation et une douleur.
  • Sténose spinale se développe lorsque le canal rachidien ou un passage nerveux est anormalement étroit.
  • L'arthrite spinale, également appelée arthrose vertébrale ou spondylose, est un problème commun de la colonne vertébrale dégénérative. Il affecte les articulations facettaires de la colonne vertébrale et peut contribuer au développement d'éperons osseux.
  • Spondylolésistance se produit lorsqu'un corps vertébral lombaire (bas du dos) glisse vers l'avant sur la vertèbre en dessous.
  • Fractures vertébrales (type rafale ou compression) causés par une blessure (par exemple, chute).
  • Ostéomyélite est une infection bactérienne qui peut se développer dans l'un des os des épines.
  • Tumeurs spinales sont une croissance anormale des cellules (une masse) et sont reconnues comme bénignes (non cancéreuses) ou malignes (cancer).

Soulager la douleur à la maison

Si vous avez récemment blessé votre bas ou bas du dos, voici quelques choses que vous pouvez faire.

  • Glace puis chaleur
    Pendant les premières heures de 24 à 48, utilisez de la glace enveloppée dans une serviette ou un chiffon. La glace aidera à réduire l'enflure, les spasmes musculaires et la douleur. Après cela, passez à la chaleur. La chaleur aide à réchauffer et détend les tissus enflammés.

Attention: N'utilisez jamais de source de froid ou de chaleur directement sur la peau, enveloppez-la toujours dans quelque chose.

  • Médicaments en vente libre
    Tylenol ou Advil, pris selon les instructions du colis, peut aider à réduire l'inflammation et la douleur.
  • Relaxez
    Les jours de repos au lit ne sont plus recommandés, vous devrez peut-être modifier votre routine quotidienne pour donner à votre bas du dos la possibilité de récupérer.

Quand chercher une attention médicale

La douleur lombaire est, ou devient grave et persistante

  • La lombalgie est ou devient sévère et persistante
  • Ne disparaît pas après quelques jours
  • Interférer avec le sommeil et les tâches quotidiennes

Les symptômes énumérés ci-dessous nécessitent toujours une attention médicale immédiate:

  • Aine, faiblesse des jambes et / ou engourdissement

Traitement de la douleur au bas du dos

Back Pain El Paso, TX Chiropractor Dr. Alex Jimenez DC
Dr. Alex Jimenez, El Paso's Chiropractor
I hope you have enjoyed our blog posts on various health, nutritional and injury related topics. Please don't hesitate in calling us or myself if you have questions when the need to seek care arises. Call the office or myself. Office 915-850-0900 - Cell 915-540-8444 Great Regards. Dr. J

Back Pain˚

Back Pain

The spine and back are made to provide a lot of strength, protecting the highly sensitive spinal cord and nerve roots, yet flexible, providing for freedom in all directions. But, there are many distinct parts of the spine which can create back pain, such as irritation to the large nerve roots that run down the arms and legs, irritation to little nerves within the spine, strains to the large back muscles, as well as any injury to the disk, bones, joints or ligaments in the spine.

Acute back pain comes on suddenly and usually lasts from a few days to a couple of weeks. Chronic back pain described as continuing over three months.

Back pain can take on a wide variety of characteristics:

  • The pain may be constant, intermittent, or occur in certain positions or actions
  • The pain may stay in one place or radiate to other areas
  • It may be a dull ache, or a sharp or piercing or burning sensation
  • The issue might be in the neck or low back but may radiate into the foot or leg (sciatica), hand or arm.

Fortunately, most kinds of back pain get better on their own: roughly 50% of individuals may experience back pain relief within two weeks and 90% within three months.

If the pain lasts for a few days, gets worse, does not react to back pain remedies such as rest, using heat or ice, back pain exercises, and over-the-counter pain relievers, then it is usually a good idea to see a back doctor. There are two cases in which emergency medical care is of utmost importance:

  • Bowel and/or bladder dysfunction

Fortunately, these conditions are rare.

Back Pain Diagnosis

Diagnostic tests may indicate if a patient’s back pain is a result of an anatomic cause. However, because diagnostic evaluations in and of themselves aren’t a diagnosis, arriving at an accurate clinical diagnosis requires an assessment to be correlated with the patient’s back pain symptoms and physical exam.

  • X-ray. This test offers information about the bones in the spine. An x-ray is frequently used to assess for spinal instability (such as spondylolisthesis), tumors and fractures.
  • CT scan. This test is a very detailed x-ray that includes cross-section images. CT scans provide specific details regarding the bones in the spine. They may also be used to test for particular conditions, such as a herniated disc or spinal stenosis. CT scans tend to be less accurate for spinal disorders than MRI scans.
  • MRI scan is particularly useful to evaluate specific conditions by providing detail of the intervertebral disk and nerve roots (which may be irritated or pinched). MRI scans are used to rule out spinal infections or tumors.

Injections may also be used to help diagnose specific types of pain. If a dose of a pain relieving medication is injected into a particular area in the backbone supplies back pain relief, then it affirms that’s the area causing pain.

Causes Of Back Pain

By far the most frequent cause of lower back pain is a muscle strain or other soft tissue damage. Although this condition is not severe, it may be severely painful. Typically, lower back pain from a muscle strain will probably get better over a few weeks.

Treatment generally involves a short period of rest, activity restriction, use of hot packs or cold packs, and pain medications. Over the counter pain, drugs used to treat muscle strain may include acetaminophen (e.g., Tylenol), ibuprofen (Advil), Motrin, or naproxen (e.g., Aleve). There could also be recommended prescription pain medications for severe back pain.

Typically, younger people (30 to 60-year-olds) are more likely to experience back pain from the disc space itself (e.g., lumbar disc herniation or degenerative disk disease). Older adults (e.g., over 60) are more likely to suffer from pain linked to joint degeneration (e.g., osteoarthritis, spinal stenosis).

Sometimes, a patient may experience more noticeable leg pain as opposed to back pain as a result of certain conditions in the lower spine, including:

  • Lumbar Herniated Disc: The interior core of the disc may lead out and irritate a nearby nerve root, causing sciatica (leg pain).
  • Lumbar spinal stenosis. The spinal canal narrows because of degeneration, which may put pressure on the nerve root and lead to sciatica.
  • Degenerative disk disease. As the disc degenerates, it can allow small amounts of motion in that segment of the spine and irritate a nerve root and lead to sciatica.
  • Isthmic spondylolisthesis. A small stress fracture allows one vertebra to slip forward on another, usually at the base of the spine, which, can pinch the nerve, causing lower back pain and leg pain.
  • Osteoarthritis. Degeneration of the small facet joints at the back of the spine can lead to back pain and decreased flexibility. May also result in spinal stenosis and nerve pinching.

It’s important to know the underlying condition that is the reason for the back pain, as remedies will often differ depending upon the causes of back pain.

Risk Factors

There are many risk factors for back pain, including aging, genetics, occupational hazards, lifestyle, weight, posture, smoking, and pregnancy. With that said, back pain is so widespread that it can strike even if you don’t have any risk factors at all.

Patients with one or more of these factors might be at risk for back pain:

  • Aging. Over the years, wear and tear on the spine that might come in conditions (e.g., disk degeneration, spinal stenosis) that produce back and neck pain. Individuals age 30 to 60 are more likely to have disc-related ailments, while individuals over age 60 are more likely to have pain associated with osteoarthritis.
  • Genetics. There is some evidence that certain types of spinal disorders have a genetic component. For instance, degenerative disc disease seems to have an inherited element.
  • Occupational hazards. Any job that needs repetitive bending and lifting has a higher incidence of back injury (e.g., construction worker, nurse). Jobs that require long hours of standing with no break (e.g., barber) or sitting in a seat (e.g., software programmer) that does not support the spine well put the person at higher risk.
  • Sedentary lifestyle. Lack of regular exercise increases risks for incidence of lower back pain also increases the severity of the illness.
  • Weight. Being overweight increases strain on the lower back, in addition to other joints (e.g., knees) and is a risk factor for certain types of back pain symptoms.
  • Bad posture. Any poor position prolonged over time creates a risk of back pain. Examples include slouching over a computer keyboard, driving hunched over a steering wheel and lifting improperly.
  • Pregnancy. Pregnant women are more likely to develop back pain due carrying excess body weight in the front, and the loosening of ligaments in the pelvic area as the body prepares for delivery.
  • Smoking. People that smoke is more likely to develop back pain than people who don’t.

When To Contact A Back Pain Doctor

Generally, when the pain has any of the following characteristics, It’s a good idea to visit a doctor for an evaluation:

  • Back pain that follows an accident, such as a car accident or falling from a ladder
  • The back pain is ongoing and is becoming worse
  • The pain continues for more than four to six weeks
  • The pain is severe and does not improve after a few days of typical remedies, such as rest, ice and pain relievers (such as Ibuprofen or Tylenol)
  • Severe pain during the night that wakes you up, even from a deep sleep
  • There’s back and abdominal pain
  • Numbness or altered feelings in the upper inner thighs, buttock or groin area
  • Neurological symptoms, like weakness, numbness or tingling in the extremities — the leg, foot, arm or hand
  • Unexplained fever with increasing back pain
  • Sudden upper back pain, mainly if you are at risk for osteoporosis.

The bottom line that everyone should remember is that if a person is in doubt, consult a physician. If back pain is getting worse over time, doesn’t get better with rest and over the counter pain remedies, or entails neurological symptoms then it’s a good idea to see a back pain doctor.

Upper/Middle Back Pain

Upper Back Pain El Paso, TX

Pain in the upper and mid back is not as common than lower back or neck pain. The upper part of the spine is called the thoracic spinal column, and it is the most secure part of the spine. The reach of movement in the upper back becomes limited because of the backbone’s attachments to the ribs (rib cage).

Upper back pain is generally caused by soft tissue injuries, like sprains or strains, muscle tension caused by bad posture, or looking downward for long time spans (e.g., texting, mobile phone use).

  • Pain
  • Tightness
  • Stiffness
  • Muscle spasm
  • Tenderness to touch
  • A headache

What Causes Mid/Upper Back Pain?

An episode of upper back pain can activate by distinct moves and actions, including:

Mid Back Pain El Paso, TX
  • Being overweight
  • Contact sports
  • Carrying a load that is heavy
  • Excessive bending
  • Lifting improperly
  • Poor muscle tone
  • Repetitive movements, overuse
  • Smoking
  • Twisting
  • Whiplash or alternative neck injury

Poor posture working at the computer for a long time without taking a break to walk around and extend, or in general can promote upper back pain. Both muscle fatigue and muscle pull, which often result from poor posture, can trigger the discomfort.

What To Do About It?

Usually, upper back pain is not a cause for worry; however, it can be uncomfortable, painful, and inconvenient. Also, if pain develops suddenly and is serious—such as from an injury (e.g., fall)—and, indeed if pain and symptoms (e.g., weakness) progressively worsen you should seek medical attention.

Generally, the next home treatments can help relieve back pain that is upper.

  • Short-term rest
  • Mild Stretches
  • Over the counter medicine, for example, ibuprofen, (Motrin®), naproxen sodium (Aleve®), or acetaminophen (Tylenol®). Take with food, and don’t take more than the recommended dose.
  • Use a cold pack that is commercially available or fill a plastic bag with ice and seals it wrap it. Apply to the painful area for 20 minutes every 2-3 hours for the first 2 to 3 days.
  • Heat (after the very first 72 hours). After using moist heat, gently stretch the muscles to enhance mobility and alleviate stiffness.

Your physician may prescribe drugs, like a muscle relaxant or perform trigger point injections to help break up muscle spasms significantly. He or she may also recommend physical therapy to increase flexibility, mobility and alleviate pain. Other treatments your doctor may suggest include acupuncture and chiropractic care.

Most cases of upper back pain resolve in 1 to 2 weeks without additional treatment. Once you’re able to perform them without pain, then restart your regular activities slowly. Don’t rush matters, however: you could interfere with your healing and risk re-injury.

Low Back Pain

Lower Back Pain El Paso, TX

Low and lower back pain can differ from dull pain which develops gradually to a sudden, sharp or persistent pain felt under the waist. Regrettably, almost everyone, at some point during life may experience low back pain that may travel downward into the buttocks and sometimes into one or both lower extremities. The most common cause is muscle strain often linked to heavy physical labor, lifting or powerful movement, bending or twisting to awkward positions, or standing too long.

Causes Of Low And Lower Back Pain

Several different conditions cause or lead to low and lower back pain. Many involve nerve compression (e.g., pinched nerve) that can cause pain and other ailments. Kinds of spinal disorders include trauma-related and degenerative diseases; meaning age-related. A few of these spinal problems are below.

  • Bulging or herniated disc. A disk may protrude outward. A herniated disc occurs when the soft inside matter escapes through a crack or ruptures through the disk’s protective outer layer. Both disc problems can lead to nerve compression, inflammation, and pain.
  • Spinal stenosis develops when the spinal canal or a nerve passageway abnormally narrow.
  • Spinal arthritis, also called spinal osteoarthritis or spondylosis, is a common degenerative spine problem. It affects the spine’s facet joints and may contribute to the development of bone spurs.
  • Spondylolisthesis occurs when a lumbar (low back) vertebral body slips forward over the vertebra below it.
  • Vertebral fractures (burst or compression types) caused by some injury (e.g., fall).
  • Osteomyelitis is a bacterial infection that may develop in one of the spines bones.
  • Spinal tumors are an abnormal growth of cells ( a mass) and are recognized as benign (non-cancerous) or malignant (cancer).

Easing Pain At Home

If you have recently injured your low or lower back, here are some things you can do.

  • Ice then heat
    During the first 24 to 48 hours, use ice wrapped in a towel or cloth. Ice will help to reduce swelling, muscle spasms, and pain. After that, switch to heat. Heat helps warm and relaxes inflamed tissues.

Caution: Never use a cold or heat source directly on the skin, always wrap it into something.

  • Over the counter medications
    Tylenol or Advil, taken according to package instructions, may help reduce inflammation and pain.
  • Take it easy
    Days of bed rest no longer recommended you might have to modify your everyday routine to give your lower back the opportunity to recuperate.

When To Seek Medical Attention

Low back pain is, or becomes severe and persistent

  • Low back pain is or becomes severe and persistent
  • Doesn’t subside after a few days
  • Interferes with sleep and daily tasks

The symptoms listed below always require immediate medical attention:

  • Groin, leg weakness and/or numbness

Low Back Pain Treatment

Dr. Alexander Jimenez ♛
Advanced Chiropractic & Wellness Authority ⚕ Healthcare Educator • Injury, Sciatica Specialist • 915-850-0900 📞
We Welcome You 👊🏻. Purpose & Passions: I am a Doctor of Chiropractic specializing in progressive, cutting-edge therapies and functional rehabilitation procedures focused on clinical physiology, total health, practical strength training, and complete conditioning. We focus on restoring normal body functions after neck, back, spinal and soft tissue injuries. We use Specialized Chiropractic Protocols, Wellness Programs, Functional & Integrative Nutrition, Agility & Mobility Fitness Training and Cross-Fit Rehabilitation Systems for all ages. As an extension to effective rehabilitation, we too offer our patients, disabled veterans, athletes, young and elder a diverse portfolio of strength equipment, high-performance exercises and advanced agility treatment options. We have teamed up with the cities premier doctors, therapist and trainers to provide high-level competitive athletes the possibilities to push themselves to their highest abilities within our facilities. We’ve been blessed to use our methods with thousands of El Pasoans over the last three decades allowing us to restore our patients’ health and fitness while implementing researched non-surgical methods and functional wellness programs. Our programs are natural and use the body’s ability to achieve specific measured goals, rather than introducing harmful chemicals, controversial hormone replacement, un-wanted surgeries, or addictive drugs. We want you to live a functional life that is fulfilled with more energy, a positive attitude, better sleep, and less pain. Our goal is to ultimately empower our patients to maintain the healthiest way of living. With a bit of work, we can achieve optimal health together, no matter the age or disability. Join us in improving your health for you and your family. It’s all about: LIVING, LOVING & MATTERING! 🍎 Welcome & God Bless EL PASO LOCATIONS Central: 6440 Gateway East, Ste B Phone: 915-850-0900 East Side: 11860 Vista Del Sol, Ste 128 Phone: 915-412-6677